Recipe: Jamie Oliver’s Lemon Curd

It is hardly worth discussing the puddings I had yesterday (a cranberry muffin and the final in my batch of stale mince pies), so I’m going to share that recipe for Lemon Curd with you instead. It makes a pretty huge jar of the stuff, so you might want to half the quantities (unless you’re a curd-fiend/confident you can dispense with a vat’s worth within 3 weeks of making it). Anyhoo, here it comes. Prepare to be empowered – you’ll never have to buy it from anyone else again.

Ingredients

  • 5 eggs
  • 5 lemons
  • 180g caster sugar
  • 250g unsalted cold butter, cut into small cubes
Method
  1. Wash lemons and finely grate the rind. Juice them all (careful to keep those dastardly pips at bay).
  2. Give those eggs a thorough beating. Add the lemon juice and rind, as well as the sugar. Beat some more.
  3. Pour your mixture into a saucepan and keep on a low-medium heat, whisking all the while (if you stop whisking, you’ll end up with lemony scrambled egg, which might be nice but is probably not what you’re hoping for).
  4. When the mixture starts to get warm, add a couple of cubes of cold butter. This’ll help to keep the overall temperature down and stop it all from burning. Keep whisking (NEVER STOP WHISKING).
  5. When those first cubes of butter are almost all melted, add a couple more. Keep going like this until all your butter’s in there, and you should end up with a thick glossy pan of hot curd. Are you still whisking? You better be…
  6. Test to see if it’s ready by dipping a spoon in the mixture. Run your finger through the residue. If the mark left by your finger stays, it’s done!
  7. Pour into a sterilised jar and seal.
  8. Lick the saucepan (when it’s not too hot to burn you, that is).

The basics of this recipe come courtesy of Recipease in Clapham Junction (minus the ad-libbing – those were my contributions, I’m afraid. I couldn’t help myself). A very tasty treat it makes too – that Mr Oliver clearly knows his stuff.

Good work, team!

15 responses

  1. Thanks for taking the time to write this out. I followed your instructions and made 4 lovely little jars of lemon curd without any problems. I hope to one day attend a Recipease session in person!

  2. Thank you for this recipe! My memories of lemon curd are of my mother slaving over a double boiler and endless stirring before that taste of sunshine on a cream cracker 🙂 Thanks to you, i have just made a batch for my mum’s birthday tomorrow. She will love it! Now, back to licking out that pot. . .

    • That’s excellent news – homemade Lemon Curd birthday presents are ALWAYS the best! I hope your mother enjoyed it – and that your saucepan got the licking it deserved…

      Happy Hogging!

      P-H x

  3. thanks for the recipe, i am still waiting for my email with recipes after the lesson .. could you share rec. for the cranberry sauce please? 🙂

    • You’re very welcome, Christa. As for the cranberry sauce, I’m not sure if I’ve still got it, but I’ll have a root around in the ol’ inbox…

      I’ll let you know if I find it!

      P-H x

  4. Looks good. Wil try next time I need a batch. I did Alice Waters’ recipe last time and that worked ok, but this looks more comprehensive and involves nice sane, sensible, modern, user-friend grams! (Or grammes).

  5. Just given this recipe a go and ruddy lovely. I love a lemon and this has to be the best way to use them. Thank you, I’m gonna whack it in between some sponges and raspberries and some whipped cream, Mmmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

