Cottage Cheese Frosting/Pouring Icing.

I’m going to break from the Southbank Chocolate Festival for a mo – I need a bit of time to eat my purchases.

Bear with me.

In the meantime, I’ve accidentally discovered a rather lovely kind of frosting made with cottage cheese. The eagle-eyed devotees among you may remember me mentioning this in a semi-disastrous (a.k.a. ‘caketastrophic’) blog post a couple of weeks ago. I had planned to make cupcakes with a fluffy cream cheese frosting, but it didn’t quite go as planned

Anyway, in the spirit of that blog post, today I’m all about the salvaging. And salvage I have: that ‘flabby and flat’ batch of frosting turned out to be a masterstroke.

For starters, in my local Tesco’s at least, cottage cheese is cheaper than its cream cheese counterpart. By about half.

For seconds, although it was runnier than the frosting I’d envisaged (the kind you see delicately heaped up in places like the Hummingbird Bakery), this made it rather lovely for pouring.

That’s right, folks. I’ve invented a new type of icing: Pouring Icing.

Say you’ve got a hot crumpet and a sugar craving. What do you need? Pouring Icing.

Perhaps you have a warm sponge – but no custard. What do you need? No – not custard: Pouring Icing!

Pancakes? Digestive biscuits? A bare-naked finger? I think you know the score…

POURING ICING ALL THE WAY.

OK. So, I’ll admit, it’s really sweet. And yes, the lumpy cheese means that it doesn’t quite tick all the aesthetic boxes that snooty old cream cheese might. But – BUT – it tastes delicious, lasts aaages (in the fridge mine was still good to eat a full nine days after I’d made it), is very low in fat, and gives you a bit of a calcium boost in the process. What’s not to like? 

If you’re still unconvinced, then fine. Have it your way. The main thing I want to impart is that if – like me – you accidentally substitute cottage cheese for cream cheese and suddenly think that all is lost: it isn’t. In fact, things just got excellent.

Cottage Cheese: lumpy, soft and strangely good for pouring...

Cottage Cheese Frosting/Pouring Icing (makes enough to cover a pretty big cake – and then some)

Ingredients:

  • 120g cottage cheese
  • 50g butter/vegetable spread
  • 300g sifted icing sugar

Method:

  1. Beat the cottage cheese with a whisk to get the lumps out (or as many as you can at least!)
  2. In a separate bowl, beat the fat and icing sugar together
  3. Add the cheese to the icing sugar mixture and beat until well incorporated. Aim for fluffiness. Expect runny slop
  4. Pour to your heart’s content (NB: when not pouring, keep refrigerated in an airtight container)
3 responses

    • Thanks, Nikki – glad you liked it! Your Red and White Velvet Christmas Cake post is making me EXTREMELY hungry right now…

      Anyway, I hope you enjoy the rest of the blog – I’ll keep my eyes peeled for the rest of your treats.

      Happy Hogging!

      P-H x

  1. Here is another idea ….I think you can have both pouring icing AND spreadable icing. How? Drain the cottage cheese well and if you have a stick blender beat the crap out of it or put in a processor or blender…drain again. I would reserve some of the cottage liquid just in case it is a bit too thick. However, I highly doubt that will happen what with the butter and the creamy cheese and vanilla {unless using vanilla bean out of the pod}. I have to give this a shot and see how it works. TY ~D~

Leave a Reply

