A Bowl of Magic Rice.

Ogglers. Stop what you’re doing and gather round: I have found something amazing.

Ever heard of Bubur Pulut Hitam?

No?

Well, here it is:

Observe

I expect you’re thinking it looks pretty plain. Like a bowl of porridge with far too much milk and brown sugar.

Those were my thoughts too when I saw it, at Paddington’s Bonda Cafe. Then I gave it a sniff: my nostrils were filled with the smell of warm coconut milk.

Bliss.

So preoccupied was I with last week’s post on Coconut Milk Yoghurts, that as soon as I saw a pudding which contained it, I ordered it without a second thought.

Turned out to be the best thing I’ve done ALL MONTH.

You see, not only was this pudding swimming in glorious coconut milk, but once I gave it a stir, something miraculous happened. It transformed…

Into THIS

Take another look at Picture One. Look closer. Can you see? That’s not brown sugar on the top at all: it’s rice! Not just any kind of rice either: Black Glutinous Rice, to be precise.

There was brown sugar in there too, as it happens. Only it was at the bottom, ready to rise with a swish of the plastic spoon.

Honestly, Ogglers. It. Was. Heaven.

Essentially a Malaysian-style Rice Pudding, it certainly won’t win prizes for presentation (for some reason, ponds and frogspawn spring to mind). But the flavour. Oh, the flavour!

The deep caramel-taste of the sugar, the richness of the coconut milk, and that crazy black rice itself: smooth, chewy, soft on the inside, firm on the outside.

As The Man will vouch (probably with some kind of eye-rolling huff), I gobbled it down in a fit of ecstasy and spent the rest of the evening bouncing around, reliving the experience, and no doubt boring him silly.

Did you see that rice?

Did you see how black it was?

It was so CREAMY.

OH MY GOD IT WAS GOOD.

I wish I was eating it right now.

Can we go back?

I love it I love it I LOVE IT.

Let’s go and get some more.

Not since that fabled trip to Cinnabon have I been in such a state. Only this time, the dessert felt wholesome and homely, not crammed to the hilt with chemicals.

Of course, it was probably crammed with sugar – not to mention a touch of fat.

Does it matter though, Ogglers?

NO.

When a pudding’s so yummy it makes you dance, you’ll probably burn off the bad stuff anyway.

You heard it here first, folks: excellent puddings burn calories. FACT.

Keep eating and dancing and you’ll be just fine.

Leave a Reply

