Chocolate Covered Cobnuts.

Put a Cob in your gob and get munching…

It’s National Nut Day – hurrah! – and what better way to celebrate than by eating copious amounts of Nuts? Answer: eating copious amounts of Chocolate covered Nuts.

As you regular Ogglers know, I have a soft spot for Chocolate Brazils, not only because when you buy them you’re helping preserve South American rainforests, but also because of their downright delicious credentials.

It’s not just Brazils that float my boat either: Almonds, Walnuts, Macadamias; whatever I can lay my muddy hands on.

I liked to think I’d tried them all, too, until I heard that someone was selling Chocolate Cobnuts.

Ever heard of a Cobnut?

In case the answer’s no, please allow me to explain: Cobnuts are a British Nut that were introduced – and became popular – in the Nineteenth Century, with the Kentish variety reigning above all the others.

They are a kind of Hazelnut – slightly larger than your average – but have sadly been in decline over recent years, partly because of competition from imported Nuts (Brazils, presumably, being one of them).

Thankfully, you can still buy Cobnuts in some parts of this country, and at Potash Farm near Sevenoaks, you can even get them covered in Plain Chocolate.

Naturally, in the spirit of National Nut Day, I considered it my duty to gobble some with my lunch. The Chocolate wasn’t the best in the world (a single origin 71% that had rather too bitter an aftertaste), but the sensation of crunching them up was as blissful as ever.

More moreish than Pringles – and so much healthier – before I knew it half the bag had gone.

At least I can say I got my dose of vitamins –  as sweet treats go, they could be so much naughtier. Yes, they contain fat and sugar (thanks, partly, to a layer of hard, thin caramel), but there’s Vitamin E and Calcium in there too, not to mention B Vitamins 1 and 6.

Better still, as my molars ground through the next one, I realised I was helping the Kentish countryside.

More munching, you see, means more need to plant Nut trees. More Nut trees means more sustainable crops. More sustainable crops means less rigorous cultivation, and less Carbon Dioxide in the atmosphere.

It’s not greediness then: it’s conservation. And whether my gobbling helps the rainforests, or the fields much closer to home, it’s the kind of conservation I can always get behind.

Leave a Reply

